International Democracy Day Commemoration 15th September 2021

“Series of International Conference on Political Party Finance Reform Agenda in South-East Asia”

Political party finance is still a serious problem for many countries in Southeast Asia. Transparency and accountability of party financial reports, the origin of funding sources whether coming from legal or illegal sources such as rent seeking, dependence of political parties on third parties (which have been having the potential to cause conflicts of interest and trade of influence), vote buying in elections, to high political costs in the countryhave become parts of dominant political party financial problems in Southeast Asia.

In the midst of this situation, political party finance reform is urgently needed. Association for Elections and Democracy (Perludem)Indonesia together with BERSIH 2.0Malaysia, Legal Network for Truthful Election (LENTE)-The Philippines, and PRADET and Women CaucusTimor Leste, with support from USAID through The Asia-Pacific Regional Support program for Election and Political Transitions (RESPECT Program), has just finished working on the research of political party finance in their respective countries to promote political party finance reform.

There are three main aspects being emphasized on the researches: (1) Identifying the party finance problems in Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, and Timor-Leste; (2) Analyzing the existing legal frameworks governing political party finance in Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, and Timor-Leste; (3) Formulating policy recommendations for party finance reform in Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, and Timor-Leste.

To disseminate the research results, as well as to discuss the agenda of political party finance reform in Southeast Asia, Perludem, LENTE, PRADET & Woman Caucus, BERSIH 2.0 and International IDEA have published a compilation book on “Political Party Finance Reform in Southeast-Asia” and will collaboratively conduct The International Conference on the Political Party Finance Reform Agenda in Southeast Asia, which will be held consecutively in September through October 2021 as series of virtual event:

Vol.1: “Reforming Political Party Finance Systems in Southeast Asia:Towards Greater Transparency and Accountability”

Monday, 13 September 2021

Time :
15.00 – 16.45 PM Jakarta/Indonesia & Bangkok Time
16.00 – 17.45 PM Singapore/Malaysia/Philippine Time
18.00 – 19.45 PM Canberra/Australia Time
08.00 – 09.45 AM London/United Kingdom Time
11.00 AM – 12.45 PM Stockholm/Sweden Time

Speakers:
1. Yukihiko Hamada (International IDEA)
Topic: “Enhancing Transparency and Accountability Political Party Finance”
2. Andreas Ufen (German Institute for Global and Area Studies)
Topic: Reforming Political Financing System in South-East Asia: Toward Greater Transparency and Accountability
3.  Rumbidzai Kandawasvika-Nhundu (International IDEA
4.  Deasy Simanjuntak (ISEAS)
Topic: Political Financing and Its Impact on The Quality of  Democracy in Southeast Asia

Moderator: Khushbu Agrawal (International IDEA)

Recording of the event: https://youtu.be/_J_5PL_QmzE

 

Vol.2: “Political Party Finance Reform Agenda in The Philippines”

Tuesday, 14 September 2021

Time:
09.00 – 11.00 AM Jakarta/Indonesia & Bangkok Time
10.00 – 12.00 PM Singapore/Malaysia/Philippine Time
12.00 – 14.00 PM Canberra/Australia Time

Keynote Speech:
Atty. Luie Tito F. Guia  (Democracy Insights Group)
Topic: Philippines’ Political Party Finance Situation: the Past, Present and Future 

Speakers:
1. Izah Katrina T. Reyes, Legal Network for Truthful Elections (LENTE)
Topic: Political Party Finance in Philippine”
2. Patricia Blarodiny Miranda, Strengthening Human Rights and Peace Research and Education in ASEAN/Southeast Asia (SHAPE-SEA)
Topic: A Disproportionately Unequal Playing Field: Challenges to and Prospect for Campaign Finance Law and Policy in The Philippines”
3. Prime Bag-id, Head of Campaign Finance Office, COMELEC
Topic: “The Role of the Election Management Body on Political Party Finance”
4. Third Bagro, Liberal Party
Topic:The Importance of Political Party Finance in Political Party Survival”
5. Karol Ilagan, Editorial Desk Director, Philippine Center for Investigative Journalism (PCIJ)
Topic: “The Role of Media in Campaign Finance Monitoring”

Moderator:
Ms. Floreen Simon, Training Director, Philippine Center for Investigative Journalism (PCIJ)

Presentation materials: bit.ly/PM-IDDC2021VOL2

Recording of the event: https://youtu.be/323Dj_1lGY4

Vol.3: “Political Party Finance Reform Agenda in Indonesia”

Tuesday, 24 September 2021

Time:
15.00 – 16.50 Jakarta/Indonesia Time
16.00 – 17.50 Singapore/Malaysia/Philippine Time
18.00 – 19.50 Canberra/Australia Time
08.00 – 09.50 AM London/United Kingdom Time
11.00 AM – 12.50 Stockholm/Sweden Time

Speakers:
1. Heroik M Pratama (Perludem)
Topic:  “Political Party Finance in Indonesia: A Never-Ending Reform”
2. Titi Anggraini (Perludem)
Topic:  “Enhancing Transparency and Accountability Political Party Finance”
3. Fritz Edward Siregar (Badan Pengawas Pemilu/Election Oversigh Body)
Topic: “Observing Campaign Finance in Indonesia Election”
4. Lena Maryana Mukti (Partai Persatuan Pembangunan)
Topic: “Political Party Finance Affirmation for Increasing Women Representation”.

Moderator:
Anthony Lee (Kompas Journalist)

Presentation materials: bit.ly/PM-IDDC2021VOL3

Recording of the event: https://youtu.be/bRebDC-Zcr8

Vol.4: “Political Party Finance Reform Agenda in Malaysia”

Friday, 01 October 2021

Time:
10.00 – 12.30 PM Malaysia.
09.00 – 11.30 AM Jakarta/Indonesia Time

Speakers:
1. Ooi Kok Hin (Bersih 2.0)
Topic: “Political Party Financing in Malaysia – Time to Implement Public Funding for political Parties?”
2. Aira Nur Ariana Azhari
Topic: “Election Fund Raising and Spending by Political Party in Malaysia: Enforcement and Challenges”
3. Dr Michael Jeyakumar Devaraj
Topic: “Political Financing Law – Consideration from Political Party’s Perspective”

Moderator:
Prof Dato’ Dr Abdul Halim Yusof

Recording of the event: https://fb.watch/8mu4re-AtX/

Vol.5: “Political Party Finance Reform Agenda in Malaysia”

Monday, 04 October 2021

Time:
03.00 – 04.30 PM Dili Time
01.00 – 02:30 PM Jakarta Time

Speakers:
1. Yasinta Lujina Conceição das Regras (Director MOFFE)
Topic: “Political Party Finance in Timor-Leste : Political Finance Reform to Promote Democracy” (including plan or issues to be advocated)
2. Celso Da Fonseca (Universidade Nacional Timor Lorosa’e (UNTL))
Topic: “Examining the Level of Accountability and Transparency with Respect to Political Party Financing in Timor-Leste.
3. José Agostinho da Costa Belo Pereira (President of the Comissão Nacional de Eleições (CNE)
Topic: “Political Financial Legal Framework in Timor-Leste“
4. Honorable MP. Maria Angelina Lopes Sarmento (Vice National Parliament Timor-Leste)
Topic: “ The role of national parliament to ensure the accountability of financing political party”

Moderator:
Paula Flamínia de Corte Real Araújo
(Founder Fundasaun CAUCUS)

Presentation materials: bit.ly/PM-IDDC2021VOL5

Recording of the event: https://youtu.be/lMKQmjvh2dQ